ABOUT US

Ask any of our clients and they’ll tell you, AMGL is committed to their success just as we are to yours. It’s our goal to build long lasting relationships by providing the expertise and advice necessary to help you determine the best course of action. We remain at the forefront in the ever changing financial law and information, technology, and the service that takes any guesswork out of the equation for you.
Bob Almquist

Shareholder - CPA, PFS, CFE, CFM, CGFM, CMA

Bob Almquist

Growing up on a farm near Wilcox, a small town in south-central Nebraska, Bob has remained a lifelong Nebraskan. It’s because of the people, the open spaces, and the clean air, he says. After graduating from the University of Nebraska, Bob joined AMGL in 1977 and is most proud of the long relationships he and his partners have with their clients and their families—a number of them for over 40-years. When not at work, Bob loves to tinker with old motorcycles and Willys Jeeps, but his real pride and joy? He and his wife Marcia have six adult children that have produced 18 grandbabies. Need we say more?

Education:

  • University of Nebraska, Lincoln

Specialties: Auditing, accounting and tax preparation for:

  • Auditing, accounting and tax preparation for:
    • Manufacturing
    • Agri-business
    • Banking
  • Personal finances
  • Fraud examiner
  • Certified Financial Manager (CFM)
  • Certified Governmental Financial Manager (GGFM)

Membership:

  • Grand Island Chamber of Commerce
  • American Institute of Certified Public Accountants
  • The Nebraska Society of CPAs
  • Board of Trustees, University of Nebraska in Lincoln.
Phil Maltzahn

SHAREHOLDER - CPA, PFS

Phil Maltzahn

After growing up in small-town Iowa, Phil married his wife Vicki when they were both 18 years old—Phil was stationed in Hawaii as a submariner in Pearl Harbor. Phil cites the openness and friendliness of Nebraskan’s as the reason he and Vicki raised their family here. Joining AMGL in 1981, Phil says the many talented people he works with are the firm’s greatest assets. From financial planning to tax expertise, AMGL is able to help their clients in many ways. Phil enjoys tennis, and he and Vicki have two sons, Scott and Todd, both residing in Fort Collins, Colorado.

Education:

  • University of Nebraska Omaha

Specialties:

  • Federal Income tax
  • Gift and Estate tax
  • Excise and employment taxes
  • Personal financial specialist

Membership:

  • American Institute of Certified Public Accountants
  • The Nebraska Society of Certified Public Accountants
  • Grand Island Tennis Association
  • Evangelical Free Church
Terry Galloway

SHAREHOLDER - CPA, PFS, CFE, CGFM, CVA

Terry Galloway

An avid hunter and fisherman, Terry Galloway joined AMGL in 1989. Nebraska born and bred, Galloway grew up in Bladen, Nebraska and still enjoys the state’s wide-open spaces and the magnificent sunsets. Terry credits forward thinking, integrity and the care for his clients and their families as hallmarks to the firm’s success. When not helping his clients, Terry loves being a part of and giving back to the community, the Nebraska State Fair and enjoying the good life that is Nebraska.

Education:

  • University of Nebraska at Kearney, BS in Business Administration and Accounting

Specialties:

  • Personal Financial Specialist (PFS)
  • Certified Fraud Examiner (CFE)
  • Certified Government Financial Manager (CGFM)
  • Certified Valuation Analyst (CVA)

Membership:

  • American Institute of Certified Public Accountants
  • Nebraska Society of Certified Pubic Accountants
  • The Association of Government Accountants
  • The Association of Certified Fraud Examiners
  • National Association of Certified Valuation Analysts
Marcy Luth

SHAREHOLDER - CPA, PFS, CMA, CFM, CGFM

Marcy Luth

Marcy grew up a farm girl near Wood River, Nebraska and became a “lifer” at AMGL joining the firm right after college in 1990. She feels Nebraska folks share the same core values, have a strong work ethic, and are extremely friendly. She loves AMGL because everyone takes the time to talk to clients, ask them questions, and make sure we understand their circumstances. We’re much more than accountants to our clients – we’re partners. Marcy and her husband Dave are avid Husker fans and love to travel.

Education:

  • Hastings College, University of Nebraska at Kearney, MA in Business Administration

Specialties:

  • Personal Finance Specialist (PFS)
  • Certified Management Accountant (CMA)
  • Certified Financial Manager (CFM)
  • Certified Government Financial Manager (CGFM)

Membership:

  • Nebraska Society of Certified Public Accountants
  • American Institute of Certified Public Accountants
  • Institute of Management Accounts
  • The Association of Government Accountants
  • Grand Island Chamber of Commerce
Heidi Ashby

SHAREHOLDER - CPA

Heidi Ashby

Graduating from the University of Nebraska at Lincoln, Heidi continues to be a huge Cornhusker Football and Volleyball fan. Joining AMGL in 1994, Heidi says that everyone at AMGL genuinely cares about their clients and families and want so much for each of them to succeed professionally and financially. Growing up in Aurora, Nebraska, Heidi loves central Nebraska because it’s a great place to raise a family and teach our children solid values. She and her husband Jeff have three young ones in Jenifer, Cole and Reagan.

Education:

  • University of Nebraska Lincoln, BS in business administration with an accounting emphasis.

Specialties:

  • Personal financial planning
  • Estate and gift tax
  • Corporate Tax
  • Individual Tax

Membership:

  • American Institute of Certified Public Accountants
  • Nebraska Society of Certified Public Accountants
Christine Shenk

SHAREHOLDER - CPA, PFS

Christine Shenk

Since 1996, Christine has believed that the best qualities of AMGL are the talented, hard-working people that help with most any accounting issue a person might have. Growing up in Clarks, Nebraska, Christine likes the small town atmosphere and the friendly folks in central Nebraska. Her most important accomplishment is overcoming her fear of heights by rappelling down the four stories of Tower 217 in downtown Grand Island. She and her husband Darren have two children, Megan and Riley, and a yellow lab named Sadie.

Education:

  • University of Nebraska at Kearney with a BS degree in business administration.

Specialties:

  • Personal Financial Specialists (PFS)
  • Tax preparation, research and planning services for individuals, business and estates.

Membership:

  • American Institute of Certified Public Accountants
  • Nebraska Society of Certified Public Accountants
Michael Hoback

SHAREHOLDER - CPA

Michael Hoback

Michael, a man of few words, but great with numbers grew up in Central City, Nebraska and has been with AMGL since 2000. He believes the greatest assets at AMGL is the very diverse partner group and staff that can meet and exceed their client’s needs. He and his wife Amber, have one son, two labs and three horses. See—he’s great with numbers.

Education:

  • Grand Island Community College, AAS in accounting
  • Bellevue University, BS in Business Administration of Technical Studies from University of Nebraska at Kearney, Accounting

Specialties:

  • Audits of local governments, school districts, employee benefit plans, ag and small business consulting.
  • QuickBooks
  • Individual and Business income taxes

Membership:

  • American Institute of Certified Public Accountants
  • Nebraska Society of Certified Public Accountants
Joe Stump

SHAREHOLDER - CPA, PFS, CVA, CGFM

Joe Stump

Joe is a true Islander having grown up in our home community. Like the rest of the shareholders, Joe is impressed by the people that he’s had the opportunity to get to know in central Nebraska. Going above and beyond the call of duty, Joe thinks that AMGL clearly provides services to clients that would not be considered standard—Wealth management, accounting and payroll services, just to name a few. He and his wife Jennifer have three children, Emillie, Megan, and Zachary.

Education:

  • Dana College with a BS in Business Administration.

Specialties:

  • Personal Financial Specialist (PFS)
  • Investment and retirement needs
  • Tax prep, research, planning and consulting individuals and business.
  • Certified Governmental Financial Manager (GGFM)

Membership:

  • American Institute of Certified Public Accountants
  • National Association of Certified Valuation Analysts
  • Nebraska Society of Certified Public Accountants.
Kyle Overturf

SHAREHOLDER - CPA, PFS

Kyle Overturf

Kyle grew up in Sutton, Nebraska, the home of Fuehrer’s Cheese Spread—yum. He describes his fellow Nebraskan’s as friendly and hard working. Having joined AMGL in 2010, Kyle feels that the firm provides honest and personable service to best meet individual needs. The clients of AMGL can rest assured that they’re being served by the best. Kyle is married to Leah and has two kids, Kenley and Adelyn.

Education:

  • University of Nebraska at Kearney, BS in Business Administration with an emphasis in accounting.

Specialties:

  • Personal Financial Specialist (PFS)
  • Audits for community government, school districts, and no-profit organizations.
  • Accounting work for small businesses bookkeeping and payroll

Membership:

  • American Institute of Certified Public Accounts
  • Nebraska Society of Certified Public Accountants.

SHAREHOLDERS

Bob Almquist, CPA, PFS, CFE, CFM, CGFM, CMA

balmquist@gicpas.com

Phil Maltzahn, CPA, PFS

pmaltzahn@gicpas.com

Terry Galloway, CPA, PFS, CFE, CGFM, CVA

tgalloway@gicpas.com

Marcy Luth, CPA, PFS, CMA, CFM, CGFM

mluth@gicpas.com

Heidi Ashby, CPA

hashby@gicpas.com

Christine Shenk, CPA, PFS

cshenk@gicpas.com

Michael Hoback, CPA

mhoback@gicpas.com

Joe Stump, CPA, PFS, CVA

jstump@gicpas.com

Kyle Overturf, CPA, PFS

koverturf@gicpas.com

CPAs

Tim Vaughn, CPA, PFS

tvaughn@gicpas.com

Jamie Clemans, CPA, PFS

jclemans@gicpas.com

Tracy Suhr, CPA

tsuhr@gicpas.com

Chris Oppliger, CPA

coppliger@gicpas.com

Andrea Toben, CPA

atoben@gicpas.com

Travis Arnold, CPA, CFE

tarnold@gicpas.com

ACCOUNTANTS

Katie Roy

kroy@gicpas.com

Allison Behring

abehring@gicpas.com

Aric Blender

ablender@gicpas.com

Rebekah Suchanek

rsuchanek@gicpas.com

Cathy Ewoldt

cewoldt@gicpas.com

Sasha Mettenbrink

smettenbrink@gicpas.com

Colleen Schmitz

cschmitz@gicpas.com

Nicole Ramaekers

nramaekers@gicpas.com

IT DIRECTOR

Jeremy Cameron

jcameron@gicpas.com

ADMINISTRATORS

Eileen McMillan

emcmillan@gicpas.com

Brenda Knapp

bknapp@gicpas.com

Kim Rojewski

krojewski@gicpas.com

DeAnn Kleier

dkleier@gicpas.com

SUPPORT STAFF

Donna Bruner

dbruner@gicpas.com

Sarah Egger

segger@gicpas.com

Julie Johnson

jjohnson@gicpas.com

Lisa Sanchez

lsanchez@gicpas.com
Glossary of Terms
  • CPA – Certified Public Accountant
  • PFS – Personal Financial Specialist
  • CVA – Certified Valuation Analyst
  • CFE – Certified Fraud Examiner
  • CFM – Certified Financial Manager
  • CGFM – Certified Government Financial Manager
  • CMA – Certified Management Accountant